My Favorites: Bicentennial Man

bicentennial_man_film_poster(source)

I was 8 years old or so and my father was going through his collection of digital movies looking for something to put on my iPod nano for an upcoming family vacation. When he came across Bicentennial Man (1999)he asked if I had seen it; I hadn’t but reluctantly asked him if it was scary because I had it confused with the Biconic Woman(ABC,1976-77). Long story short the two had nothing to do with one another, and Bicentennial Man instantly became my favorite movie.

Bicentennial Man is a touching story that follows a robot, Andrew, who has a “small” glitch… he can feel emotions. As the movie progress human like relationships begin to form between Andrew and his owners. He eventually begins to explore the world and his “humanity,” as he does this he meets several new people, and other robots which help to solidify his beliefs about what truly defines a life.

There are several reasons that I love this movie but they can be condensed into the following three things:

  1. It explores character relationships more thoroughly than most movies and therefor the viewer is really able to empathize with the characters. I say this as someone who never cries because of a movie, I cry every time! The writers spend what seems like forever just getting to know characters that aren’t in the full duration of the movie, but these characters are revisited and because the viewer knows them so well it’s very easy to fall right back into their lives with Andrew.
  2. The topics that the movie focuses on generally appeal to me, I often find myself enjoying entertainment that explores similar themes to Bicentennial Man. I have always liked talking about the social issues that are throughly covered in this movie such as humanity, slavery. It also explores several unanswerable questions which have also intrigued me since I was a child.
  3. It depicts the evolution of love, life, and humanity very well. There’s not much more to explain here. The movie is just able to really put its viewer on an emotional rollercoaster and helps to create a defined picture of the “life” of a robot.

word count: 363

4 thoughts on “My Favorites: Bicentennial Man

  1. Growning up, I loved watching this movie. The one thing I loved the most about this movie was that the same woman he was assainged to kill, he inded up saving her life. He was able to override his commanders. He was the only robot that functuated with human emotions.

    Like

  2. Growing up, I loved watching this movie. The one thing Iloved the most about this movie was that the same woman he was assigned to kill, he inded up saving her life. He was able to override his commander’s orders. He was infact the only robot that functuated with human emotions. September 8, 2016

    Like

Leave a Reply

